Welcome to the James L. Petigru Inn of Court located in Charleston, South Carolina. This Inn is connected to the Charleston School of Law.



About the Inn:

On Friday, March 20, 2009, Julianne Farnsworth and Abby Edwards Saunders met with Judge Alex Sanders to discuss the formation of a Charleston Inn of Court.

Following the March 20 meeting, Judge Sanders, Ms. Farnsworth, and Dean Saunders immediately began working with Judge Kristi Lea Harrington, Attorney Robert Brunson, and Pam Wittman (Director of Chapter Relations for the Southeast Region) to establish a Charleston Inn. Their dream quickly became a reality when The American Inns of Court officially chartered The James L. Petigru American Inn of Court on July 1, 2009.

The Petigru Inn is comprised of judges, lawyers, and law students from the Charleston area and meets in Charleston six times throughout the academic year. Each year, approximately twelve students from the Charleston School of Law are invited into membership based on their demonstrated leadership, professionalism, public service, and academic commitment. All state and federal judges are invited to participate in the Petigru Inn, and the remainder of the membership is comprised of a diverse group of lawyers. The goal of the Petigru Inn is to provide an atmosphere that fosters collegiality among practicing lawyers and judges as well as to provide a means of educating our law student members about the legal profession.

The Petigru Inn hosted its first meeting on October 13, 2009, at the William Aiken House located at 456 King Street in Charleston, South Carolina. Dr. Raymond S. Greenberg, President of the Medical University of South Carolina, presented a program on attorney James L. Petigru and his contributions to justice in South Carolina. During the first meeting, Ms. Wittman presented the membership with the ceremonial charter.

Since that first meeting, the Petigru Inn has continued to offer incredible speakers for its meetings and continues to meet at the William Aiken House along with beginning to host lunch meetings at Hall's Chophouse. The Inn has hosted speakers such as Chief Justice Jean Hoefer Toal, Virginia Supreme Court Justice and President of the American Inns of Court, Justice Donald W. Lemons, Supreme Court Justice John C. Few, Supreme Court Justice John Kittredge and Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals Senior Judge Dennis W. Shedd.

The Petigru Inn provides CLE credit for its eligible members as a benefit of membership. Additionally, judges and attorneys provide numerous mentoring opportunities for the newer attorneys and law students.

James L. Petigru 2023-2024 Executive Team

President- Alissa Lietzow 

Vice President- Scott Moise 

Immediate Past President- Britt Kelly 

President Elect- Vice President- Paige Ornduff 

Judicial Officer- Mikell Scarborough

Secretary- Amber Daniels Treasurer- Walker Humphrey 

Historian/Web Administrator- Nickisha Woodward