The Inn presents an annual Civility Award to an attorney who exemplifies the ideals of the American Inns of Court.  The Civility Award is given each year to a lawyer who has been recognized as most civil and at the same time most effective.  This attorney may either be a member of the Inns of Court or not.  The selection committee is composed of all judges in Hamilton County, which includes the United States District Judges, the United States Magistrates, Hamilton County Circuit Court judges, Chancellors, General Sessions judges and the Juvenile Court judge.  This group will take nominations from the Inns of Court and may make its own nominations.  Generally, judges will be the group most experienced with trial attorneys and their civility in the courtroom, whether at motions or in trial.  The bar and Inns of Court will generally be the most knowledgeable of the attorneys who are most civil when outside the courtroom.  The recipient is selected after meetings and discussions among all the judges.  Master and former Hamilton County Circuit Court Judge W. Neil Thomas, III coordinates and organizes the meetings of the judges for selection of the award winner.  The Civility Award is usually announced during the kickoff of the Inn's new year in September.


2023 Civility Award

Award Not Presented in 2023

2022 Civility Award Winner

CHRIS POOLE of Chattanooga, Tennessee 

2021 Civility Award Winner

MISTY HARRIS of Chattanooga, Tennessee

2020 Civility Award Winner

Award Not Presented Due to COVID19 Pandemic

2019 Civility Award Winner

HUGH J. MOORE, JR. of Chattanooga, Tennessee

2018 Civility Award Winners

Co-Winners--    Sam Elliott of Chattanooga, Tennessee and

                        Mike Caputo (awarded posthumously); Chattanooga, Tennessee

2017 Civility Award Winners

Co-Winners--     H. Rick Marcus of Chattanooga, Tennessee and

                         Steve Greer of Dunlap, Tennessee

2016 Civility Award Winner

Lee Davis of Chattanooga, Tennessee

2015 Civility Award Winner

Bruce Bailey of Chattanooga, Tennessee

2014 Civility Award Winner

Award Not Presented in 2014

2013 Civility Award Winner

Rheubin Taylor of Chattanooga, Tennessee

2012 Civility Award Winner

Richard Schulman of Chattanooga, Tennessee

2011 Civility Award Winner

Michael "Mike" Luhowiak of Chattanooga, Tennessee

2010 Civility Award Winner

Glenna Ramer of Chattanooga, Tennessee

2009 Civility Award Winner-- First Year Award Was Presented

Art Brock of Chattanooga, Tennessee