In furtherance of Inn's mission and in continuance of our scholarship program over the past several years, the Hon. Nancy F. Atlas IP Inn of Court, in conjunction with HIPLA will once again award scholarships of $3,000 to law students from each of the Houston area law schools this year.

Application Process

Complete the scholarship application online.  Applications must be received by December 6, 2024. Selections occur over the winter break. You should address the criteria below in your submittal. The completeness of your submittal against the criteria will be a factor in evaluating scholarship recipients.

  1. The application requires a personal statement of 300 words or less demonstrating interest in intellectual property law (for example, through coursework, prior internships, prior employment, bar activities, student organization activities, publications, or participation in the Giles Rich Moot Court competition)
  2. Applications are considered from 2Ls and 3Ls, or the equivalent thereof for a part-time student. At the time of application, the student must have completed at least 30 hours of law study. The applicant pool is not open to 1Ls or to LLM students.
  3. Academic Merit (include a transcript)
  4. Financial Need (include a copy of your financial aid award and include any other relevant statement about need you would like the evaluators to consider)
  5. Greater consideration will be given to students who have interned for a Houston Federal Judge, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, or the USPTO.
  6. The applicant will preferably not have previously received a Scholarship or Fellowship from the Atlas Inn of Court/HIPLA. Please state if this is the case, or if the applicant is applying a second time for the scholarship.

All recipients are subject to final approval by the Nancy F. Atlas IP Inn of Court Executive Committee and the HIPLA Board.

Joshua P. Davis
Atlas IP Inn Scholarship Committee Chair


Past Scholarship Recipients:


  • Bryan Botani (TMSL)
    Zoe Feinberg (UHLC)
    Damaris Floris (STCL)
    Sangheon Han (UHLC)
    Taylor Lonas (UHLC)
    Maryam Nasizadeh (STCL)
    David Nixon (STCL)
    Brandon Price (TMSL)
    Nailah Underwood (TMSL)


  • Luke Holbrook (UHLC)
    Victor Martinez (UHLC)
    Emma Myles (UHLC)
    Laura Nguyen (UHLC)
    Len Badeau (TMSL)
    Olayinka Oladele (TMSL)
    Shaneil Snipe (TMSL)
    Kierra Williams (TMSL)


  • Mallika Dargan (UHLC)
    Farid Rajkotwala (UHLC)
    Payam Rashidi (UHLC)
    Lauren Kickel (STCL)
    Kevin Szymczak (STCL)
    Taylore Williams (STCL)
    Joel Johnson (TMSL)
    David Maly (TMSL)
    Lorraine Olutu (TMSL)


  • Norma Osarumwense (UH)
  • Jahnathan Braquet (UH)
  • Cesar Udave (UH)
  • Amanda Capozzelli (STCL)
  • Ranjit Singh Lidhar (TMSL)
  • Ja'Nore Scott (TMSL)
  • Markicia Horton (TMSL)


  • Allure Anoma (TMSL)
  • Michael Aragon (UH)
  • Joy Winkler Chapman (STCL)
  • Kennedy Jones (TMSL)
  • Lori Lee (STCL)
  • Maggie Martin (UH)
  • Ashley Maskus (STCL)
  • Matthew Metcalfe (UH)
  • Noah Valdez (TMSL)


  • Kyna Hill-Dominique (TMSL)
  • Ebony Harris (TMSL)
  • Jasmine Lewis (TMSL)
  • April Lopez (STCL)
  • Megan J. Mitchell (STCL)
  • Khanh Nguyen (UH)
  • Damon Sima (UH)
  • Elizabeth Slezak (STCL)
  • Jaime L. Stark (UH)


  • Jillian Scherrer (STCL)
  • Cameron Ellis (STCL)
  • Timothy Rose (TMSL)
  • Reginal Harris (TMSL)
  • Sean Huang (UH)
  • Sarah Luther (UH)
  • Collin Marshall (UH)


  • Priscilla Tran (TMSL)
  • Adela Pena (STCL)
  • Steve Maule (UH)
  • Munira Jesani (UH)
  • Samie Leigh (UH)


  • Yan Xu (University of Houston)
  • Matthew Fronz (South Texas College of Law)
  • Helen Ashegbeyeri (Thurgood Marshall School of Law)
  • Timothy John Busse (University of Houston)
  • Myra T. Dioquino (South Texas College of Law)