About the Jordan Inn

Barbara Charline Jordan (February 21, 1936 - January 17, 1996) was a lawyer, educator, an American politician, and a leader of the Civil Rights movement. A Democrat, she was the first African-American elected to the Texas Senate after Reconstruction, the first Southern black female elected to the United States House of Representatives, the first known lesbian woman elected to the United States Congress (though this was not known to the public during her tenure), and the first African-American woman to deliver a keynote address at a Democratic National Convention. She received the Presidential Medal of Freedom, among numerous other honors. She was a member of the Peabody Awards Board of Jurors from 1978 to 1980. On her death, she became the first African-American woman to be buried in the Texas State Cemetary.

Barbara Jordan was chosen as the namesake of this Inn because she was a legendary pioneer in civil rights for women and minorities, and broke many barriers during her career. She was also a teacher and mentor to her students, from the Tuskegee Institute in Alabama to the LBJ School of Public Affairs. In much the same way, her namesake Inn focuses on members who have not had the Inn experience before--criminal law, family law, immigration law, women, attorneys of color, solo/ small firm, LGBTQ, etc.

On April 14, 2016, Chief Judge of the 5th Circuit, Carl E. Stewart, President of the American Inn of Court Foundation, presented the official charter to the members of the Jordan Inn. Accepting on behalf of the members of the Jordan Inn were Assistant Attorney General Frank A. King, President of the Barbara Jordan American Inn of Court, Presiding Municipal Court Judge Honorable Sherry Statman, President-elect, and Texas Supreme Court Justice Jeff Boyd, Counselor. Stewart spoke of the important role that Inns of Court play in promoting skills and civility in litigation, while also preserving the unique character of the American legal system. "I am so proud that in your inauguration you have taken the time to find out how Barbara Jordan so aptly fits what the American Inns of Court stand for," Stewart said.

Barbara Jordan Picture

Fall 2020- Spring 2021 Inn Meeting Schedule

  • September 15, 2020 -- 5:30 p.m. virtual orientation
  • October 13, 2020 -- 5:30 p.m. virtual meeting
  • November 10, 2012 -- 5:30 p.m. virtual meeting
  • December 8, 2020 -- 5:30 p.m. location TBD
  • January 12, 2021 -- 5:30 p.m. location TBD
  • February 9, 2021 -- 5:30 p.m. location TBD
  • March 9, 2021 -- 5:30 p.m. location TBD
  • April 13, 2021 -- 5:30 p.m. location TBD

2020-2021 Committee Members

  • Executive Committee
    • President - Melissa Goodwin
    • Treasurer - Melissa Hargis
    • Counselor - The Honorable Jeff Boyd
    • Immediate Past President - Eric Nichols
    • UT Law Liaison - Chris Roberts
    • Administrator - Jeanette Ybarra
  • Chair Members
    • Membership Chair - Mary Evelyn McNamara and Robyn Hargrove
    • Programs Chairs - Gene Anthes
    • Mentorship Chair - Mark Pierce
    • Social Chair - Kelli Fuqua
    • Community Outreach Co-Chairs - Francesca DiTroia and Laura Barbour

Team Presentations

The Jordan Inn meets once a month to watch group presentations by its members for CLE credit.

Social outings

Inn teams are encouraged to get together for social events outside of preparing for CLE presentations.

team 6 ax throwing

Arianna Smith, the Honorable Nancy Hohengarten, Gene Anthes and Jacqueline Odum of Team 6 blowing off steam at Urban Axes Austin.


The Bencher recognized several members of the Barbara Jordan Inn of Court for their volunteer work with the Community First Village.

 bencher article

We are proud of our members' service!

Inn Documents

Charter Presentation

We were fortunate to have the Honorable Justice Carl E. Stewart of the 5th Court of Appeals, and President of the National American Inn of Court join us on April 14, 2016 to formally present our charter.

charter presentation exec

Left to Right: President-Elect Honorable Sherry Statman, President Frank King, Honorable Justice Carl E. Stewart, Counselor Honorable Jeff Boyd

charter presentation founders

Left to right: Counselor Honorable Jeff Boyd, President Frank King, National Inn President Honorable Justice Carl E. Stewart, Inn Founder and Advisor Dirk Jordan, Honorable Lee Yeakel


2020-2021 Sponsors to be announced.