Hon. William B. Enright Inn of Court website

William B. Enright Inn History

The William B. Enright Chapter of the American Inns of Court was created in 1991, and named in honor of United States District Court Judge William B. Enright, who has been very involved in the development of the American Inns of Court in the United States, as well as having been a highly respected leader of the judiciary in San Diego.

The judges and lawyers who were instrumental in establishing the Enright Inn of Court are Justice Howard Wiener, Ret., Hon. Kevin Midlam, Ret., Justice Judith Haller, Attorney Virginia Nelson, Hon. James R. Milliken, Attorney Suzanne Stanford, and Attorney William McCurine, Jr.

Our past Presidents include the Hon. Howard Wiener, Ret., the Hon. James Milliken, the Hon. Kevin Midlam, Ret., Virginia Nelson, Kenneth Turek, Robert Grimes, the Hon. William McCurine, Robert S. Brewer, the Hon. David Danielsen, the Hon. Kevin Enright, the Hon. Maureen Hallahan, Susan M. Hack, Nancy Stagg, and the Hon. Barbara L. Major. Our current president is Craig R. McClellan.

About Judge Enright

The Honorable William B. Enright was appointed to the United States District Court for the Southern District of California in 1972, and went on senior status July 12, 1990, and retired in 2001. Before his appointment to the Bench, Judge Enright was an outstanding trial lawyer, first as a Deputy District Attorney, and then as a criminal defense lawyer.

Judge Enright's dedication to the goals and principles of the American Inns of Court movement is widely recognized and he was a major force in the movement's acceptance in California. He was a founding member of the Louis Welsh American Inn of Court (No. 9), and has assisted in the formation of many other Inns at both the state and national levels.

Judge Enright served as Trustee for the American Inns of Court Foundation from 1985 to 1992. He is currently one of ten Emeritus Trustees.

In 1987, the American Inns of Court Foundation awarded Judge Enright the Chairman's Award (now the A. Sherman Christensen Award), which is bestowed upon a "member of an American Inn of Court who, at the local, state or national level has provided distinguished, exceptional and significant leadership to the American Inns of Court movement." He is the only Californian to receive this award and a measure of being a recipient -- in both prestige and Inn service -- can be seen in his successor to the award: U.S. Supreme Court Chief Justice Warren E. Burger.

There are many examples of ways Judge Enright has worked in the general and legal community to make California a better place, including community involvement (Rotary Club, United Crusade, Big Brothers, Little League, Urban Coalition) and legal leadership (President, San Diego Bar Association, 1965; President, Defenders, Inc., 1972; Vice-President, State Bar of California, 1970). He has also been a chair or member of numerous state, 9th Circuit and national boards working to improve our justice system.