

SECOND ANNUAL DINNER MEETING RECAP THE PAULINE NEWMAN IP AMERICAN INN OF COURT WEDNESDAY, MAY 22, 2013

The second annual dinner meeting of the Pauline Newman IP American Inn of Court took place at Indigo Landing, a restaurant adjacent to a marina on the north end of the City of Alexandria, Virginia on Wednesday, May 22, 2013 from 6:00 p.m. to approximately 9:00 p.m.





Outgoing

President Al Tramposch made introductory remarks, thanking Buchanan Ingersoll for their support over the years and their sponsorship of the Dinner Meeting. He announced that Judge Newman was unable to come, because she had the flu. He thanked Membership Committee Chair Erin Sheehan for organizing the dinner. He thanked current and former officers of the Inn for their work, asked them to stand up, and they were applauded. He thanked the members of the Nominating Committee, asked them to stand up,



and they were applauded. Bill Stoffel summarized the Inn meetings over the last year. Secretary-Treasurer Steve Swift made a brief statement on the Inn's finances.



Rob Burns certified that there was a quorum (majority) of both the Masters and the entire voting membership, including those present at the meeting and those who had voted on-line. A proposed slate of officers for 2013-2014 proposed by the Nominating Committee was distributed to the attendees of the dinner menu. The slate had been emailed to members of the Inn before the meeting, and there was an opportunity to vote on-line and to nominate additional candidates before the meeting. All those who voted on-line voted for the slate, and there were no on-line nominations. Only Masters (with 15 or more years of practice) could vote for President and Vice-President. All members (except pupils) could vote for all other offices. Outgoing President Al Tramposch read the name of each office and the candidate(s) nominated

for it, and asked if there were any additional nominations. There were no nominations from the floor for any office. There was then an "aye" or "nay" voice vote for each office, and then he went on to the next office, until all the officers were elected. The officers unanimously elected for 2013-2014 are as follows:

Office	<u>Name</u>
President	Judge Liam O'Grady
Vice-President	Judge Hubert Lorin
Judicial Counselors	Judge Pauline Newman Judge Richard Linn Judge John Anderson
USPTO Counselors	Acting Director Teresa Rea Judge Jay Moore
Administrator	Rob Burns
Secretary-Treasurer	Steve Swift
Assistant Secretary-Treasurer	Doug Pearson
Program Committee Co-Chairs	Elizabeth Dougherty Walt Kelley
Membership Committee Co-Chairs	Rachel Elsby Erin Dunston
Social Committee Co-Chairs	Judge Hung Bui John Williamson
Mentoring & Award	Jack Corrado

Committee Co-Chairs	Abby Lin
Reporting Committee Co-Chairs	Bill Stoffel Kevin Mahne
Liason Committee Chair	David Sosnowski
Emeritus	Meredith Petravick

Newly elected President Liam O'Grady thanked the Inn, and discussed his plans for the coming year. Al Tramposch asked the founding masters to stand, and



they were applauded.

After dinner, USPTO Acting Director Teresa Rea spoke. She discussed the progress the PTO has been making in implementing the America Invents Acts. New PTAB judges are being hired. There are judges in the four satellite offices. Covered Business Method procedures are very popular. Most inter partes reviews have concurrent litigation. Examiners are receiving new training. The Supreme Court and the Federal Circuit disagree over how flexible patent law should be.



Photographs were taken by Michael Lew.

Respectfully submitted,

Stephen Christopher Swift Secretary-Treasurer