

I'ANSON-HOFFMAN INN OF COURT NEWSLETTER

October 2017-May 2018 VOL. 29

The I'Anson-Hoffman Inn enjoyed another fabulous year, filled with fellowship, education, and mentorship.

In September, the Inn kicked the year off with a fall social hosted by Inn members Chris and Susan North at their lovely Yorktown home overlooking the Poquoson River.

Members gathered at William & Mary Law School for the October meeting, where new members participated in an orientation and then University of Richmond School of Law Professor Kevin Walsh spoke about John Marshall's legacy.

Pupilage Group II stepped up its game and engaged Inn members in a rousing round of Jeopardy focused on an array of ethical issues at the November meeting, held at the Norfolk Yacht and Country Club.





The January meeting was held at the Hampton Yacht Club. Pupilage Group IV presented an entertaining series of vignettes raising some lively discussion of professionalism and ethical issues, capped off by an appearance of Abraham Lincoln.

Always a favorite of Inn members, in April, the I'Anson-Hoffman Inn and the James Kent Inn got together for a joint meeting at the Norfolk Yacht & Country Club. Robert Wagner of the Office of the Federal Public Defender, gave a fascinating talk about his experiences launching a legal aid public defender system in Kenya.

Finally, in May, the Inn wrapped up the year with its annual banquet at Wren Hall at William & Mary. The Inn had the privilege of hearing the inspiring story of Shon Hopwood, who went from being a jailhouse lawyer while serving time in a federal prison to becoming an appellate lawyer and professor at Georgetown University Law Center.



I'ANSON-HOFFMAN INN OF COURT NEWSLETTER

October 2017-May 2018

VOL. 29



2018-2019 Officers and Board Members

At the May meeting, the members elected the following slate of officers and board members:

Officers

Polly Chong, President

W. Ryan Snow, Vice President (Counselor)

Hon. Mary Jane Hall, Treasurer

Hon. Stephen A. Hudgins, Secretary

Larry M. Dash, Immediate Past President

Board Members

Hon. Gary Mills

Hon. Robert Hagans

Christian L. Connell

Sandra L. Smith

Cheshire I'Anson Eveleigh