Fostering Excellence in Professionalism, Ethics, Civility, and Legal Skills
The Robert Van Pelt American Inn of Court

Warren K. Urbom Mentor Award

The Warrent K. Urbom Award is awarded annually by the Robert Van Pelt American Inn of Court to a Nebraska judge or attorney in appreciation for his or her contributions to the ideals of ethics, civility, professionalism, and legal skills. The award is named after Warren K. Urbom, a Senior United States District Judge for the District of Nebraska. Judge Urbom sponsored the creation of the Robert Van Pelt American Inn of Court and served as its administrator for 15 years. Judge Urbom was the first recipient of the award, which was presented to him on April 24, 2002, in recognition of his "example in and out of the courtroom as a person, lawyer and judge, making us strive to be the best we can be in how we think, speak, write and represent our profession." The recipient need not be a member of the Inns of Court. 

Mentor Award Past Winners

  • 2019 Richard Moberly
  • 2018 Judge Riko Bishop
  • 2017 Judge Cheryl Zwart
  • 2016 Tim Engler
  • 2015 Judge Paul D. Merritt, Jr.
  • 2014 Paul Galter
  • 2013 Judge Lyle E. Strom
  • 2012 Judge William B. Cassel
  • 2011 Korey Reiman
  • 2010 Steven J. Schmidt
  • 2009 David R. Buntain
  • 2008 Judge Richard G. Kopf
  • 2007 Judge John A. Colborn
  • 2006 Glenda J. Pierce
  • 2005 Judge Karen B. Flowers
  • 2004 Judge Laurie Smith Camp
  • 2003 Judge Kenneth C. Stephan